Leading minds

GSTM launch

The following members of the Faculty of Engineering, Built Environment and Information Technology were recognised by the University as being exceptional academic achievers:



Prof Thokozani Majozi, from the Department of Chemical Engineering. Prof Majozi is also the 2008 recipient of the The British Association Medal (Silver) of the Southern Africa Association for the Advancement of Science.



Prof Josua Meyer, Head of the Department of Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering and Chair of the School of Engineering.



Prof Xiaohua Xia, Director of the Centre for New Energy Studies in the School of Engineering.



ightarrow **Dr Rob Adams**, Chief Executive Officer of NECSA, was the guest speaker at the launch of the University's Graduate School of Technology Management (GSTM).



→ The University of Pretoria strengthened its partnership with the Pebble Bed Modular Reactor Company (Pty) Ltd through the signing of a memorandum of agreement. The two organisations were represented by Mr Jaco Kriek, CEO of the PBMR Company (left), and Prof Calie Pistorius, Vice-Chancellor and Principal of the University of Pretoria.



→ Mr Saurabh Sinha (centre), a senior lecturer in the Department of Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering, has been named the South African Institute of Electrical Engineers' Engineer of the Year for 2007. Pictured with Mr Sinha are Mr Hermann Broschk from Alstom (left), and Mr Ian McKechnie, President of the SAIEE.

IT project evening



→ Juan Landman explains his IT project to a fellow stu-dent, during the 2007 project evening for the School of Information Technology



→ Guest speaker at the prize-giving function of the School of Information Technology at the end of 2007 was **Prof Roy Johnson**, Fulbright Scholar and extraordinary professor in Informatics.