## HISTORIC AGREEMENT BETWEEN LEADERS IN ENGINEERING EDUCATION

The University of Pretoria (UP) and the world-renowned Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) signed a co-operation agreement in 2005. This agreement entails the mutual exchange of students and lecturers, and collaboration on various mechanical and aeronautical engineering research projects. The two universities will also combine efforts in establishing a re-worked undergraduate engineering curriculum (dubbed the Conceive-Design-Implement-Operate initiative), in conjunction with 10 other world-leading engineering universities. The University of Pretoria's School of Engineering last year implemented a pilot programme in community development for all its students, whereby senior engineering students do community service pertaining to science and technology upliftment. This extremely successful programme is presently compulsory for all senior students, and MIT's Department of Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering will also collaborate with this initiative. MIT postgraduates will next year visit the UP to participate in numerous community development projects, and UP students will return the favour later in 2007, when several projects in the Boston-Cambridge area in the USA will be tackled.



→ The University of Pretoria and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology entered into a most significant and historic agreement, to collaborate with research, tuition, and with community service. Vice-Chancellor of the UP, Prof. Calie Pistorius (2nd right) here shakes the hand of Prof. Wesley Harris (Head: MIT's Dept of Aero and Astro Engineering). Other people looking on are, front fltr, Prof. Roelf Sandenbergh (Dean: UP Faculty of Engineering, Built Environment and IT), Prof. Col. Pete Young (MIT); fltr: Prof. Josua Meyer (Head: UP Department of Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering), Dr Bill Litant (MIT), Ms. Danielle Adams (MIT), Prof. Philip de Vaal (Head: UP Dept of Chemical Engineering); back row, fltr: Prof. Wilhelm Leuschner (Head: UP Dept of Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering), Prof. Stephan Heyns (UP), Prof. Tinus Pretorius (Head: UP Dept of Engineering and Technology Management), Prof. Leon Liebenberg (UP).

Σ

Σ 0