## SAE PRESIDENTIAL VISIT

The University of Pretoria's Department of Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering was honoured by the visit of the chief executive of the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE), a non-profit educational and scientific organisation with more than 89,000 members in 97 countries. The SAE is responsible for more than 6,000 standards in the space and aviation industry and 1,500 road vehicle related standards. The American delegation comprised of SAE President, Mr Ted Robertson, Executive Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer, Mr Raymond Morris, and the Manager for Global Affairs, Mr Murli Iyer. The legendary automobile pioneer Henry Ford founded the society 100 years ago and the equally famous aircraft pioneer Orville Wright started its aeronautical division.



 $\rightarrow$  Mr Ted Robertson (SAE President) inspects an experimental set-up in one of the laboratories of the Dynamic Systems Research Group. Mr Raymond Morris (SAE Executive Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer) listens intently to Professor Stephan Heyns who is explaining the scope of post-graduate research work conducted in the field of dynamic systems. (Professor Heyns is Head of the Dynamic Systems Group in the Department of Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering).