

University of Pretoria Yearbook 2025

BAHons Literary Theory (01240552)

Department	Afrikaans
Minimum duration of study	1 year
Total credits	120
NQF level	08

Admission requirements

- 1. Bachelor's degree in a language, literary theory or language-related discipline
- 2. A weighted average of at least 65% in a language, literary theory or language-related discipline at final-year level



Curriculum: Final year

Minimum credits: 120

LCC 732 (30 credits) and LCC 727 (20 credits) are compulsory.

Select another 3 or 4 Core modules to amount to a total of 120 credits.

If 3 Core modules are selected, 1 Elective module offered by another department must be included.

If 4 Core modules are selected, no elective module can be included.

Core modules

Postcolonialism 723 (LCC 723) - Credits: 20.00

African writers and thought 724 (LCC 724) - Credits: 20.00 Introduction to literary theory 727 (LCC 727) - Credits: 20.00

World literature 728 (LCC 728) - Credits: 20.00 Gender and literature 729 (LCC 729) - Credits: 20.00 Research report 732 (LCC 732) - Credits: 30.00 Capita selecta 733 (LCC 733) - Credits: 20.00

Elective modules

Afrikaanse drama 718 (AFR 718) - Credits: 20.00 Afrikaanse poësie 755 (AFR 755) - Credits: 20.00

Afrikaanse prosa 756 (AFR 756) - Credits: 20.00

Nederlandse letterkunde 775 (AFR 775) - Credits: 20.00

German literature (1) 755 (DTS 755) - Credits: 24.00 German literature (2) 756 (DTS 756) - Credits: 24.00

(2) 750 (B15 750) Greatest 2 1100

German literature (3) 757 (DTS 757) - Credits: 24.00

German literature (4) 758 (DTS 758) - Credits: 24.00 African writing I 703 (ENG 703) - Credits: 15.00

African writing II 704 (ENG 704) - Credits: 15.00

Afficall writing if 704 (ENG 704) - Credits: 15.00

South African short stories 705 (ENG 705) - Credits: 15.00

Children's literature 773 (ENG 773) - Credits: 15.00 Medieval literature 701 (ENZ 701) - Credits: 15.00 The Augustan vision 705 (ENZ 705) - Credits: 15.00

Shakespeare and his times 710 (ENZ 710) - Credits: 15.00

Modernism 771 (ENZ 771) - Credits: 15.00 Postmodernism 772 (ENZ 772) - Credits: 15.00

French language and linguistics 757 (FRN 757) - Credits: 24.00 isiNdebele literature: Capita selecta 751 (NDE 751) - Credits: 20.00 Sepedi literature: Capita selecta 751 (SEP 751) - Credits: 20.00

Hispanic literature 701 (SPN 701) - Credits: 20.00

Setswana literature: Capita selecta 751 (STW 751) - Credits: 20.00 isiZulu literature: Capita selecta 751 (ZUL 751) - Credits: 20.00



General Academic Regulations and Student Rules

The General Academic Regulations (G Regulations) and General Student Rules apply to all faculties and registered students of the University, as well as all prospective students who have accepted an offer of a place at the University of Pretoria. On registering for a programme, the student bears the responsibility of ensuring that they familiarise themselves with the General Academic Regulations applicable to their registration, as well as the relevant faculty-specific and programme-specific regulations and information as stipulated in the relevant yearbook. Ignorance concerning these regulations will not be accepted as an excuse for any transgression, or basis for an exception to any of the aforementioned regulations. The G Regulations are updated annually and may be amended after the publication of this information.

Regulations, degree requirements and information

The faculty regulations, information on and requirements for the degrees published here are subject to change and may be amended after the publication of this information.

University of Pretoria Programme Qualification Mix (PQM) verification project

The higher education sector has undergone an extensive alignment to the Higher Education Qualification Sub-Framework (HEQSF) across all institutions in South Africa. In order to comply with the HEQSF, all institutions are legally required to participate in a national initiative led by regulatory bodies such as the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), the Council on Higher Education (CHE), and the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA). The University of Pretoria is presently engaged in an ongoing effort to align its qualifications and programmes with the HEQSF criteria. Current and prospective students should take note that changes to UP qualification and programme names, may occur as a result of the HEQSF initiative. Students are advised to contact their faculties if they have any questions.